• A football club was founded in Kilnaboy in 1942. This is the first record of organised football within the parish. The first chairman of this club was Joe O'Brien, with Bobby Cassidy as the first secretary. Get togethers were held at Collins's field and at the Riasc Mór. Among the players who played in that first football team were Peadar Murphy, Pat Linnane, Jimmy O'Loughlin, Paddy O'Doherty, Jimmy Mack, Brendan Collins and Flan Cleary. Even though this team did not have much success, they laid the foundations for the success that followed over thirty years later     
  • Despite having a fine number of individual hurlers, Corofin were unable to win a championship. This however was put right in 1945 when they won the Junior B Championship, beating Ogonnolloe in the final by 6-6 to 4-3. This team was backboned by several sets of brothers: Williams's, Ryan's, McGuane's, Egan's, Doherty's, McNamara's and O'Loughlins. The driving forces behind this team were Fr. Maxwell and Naoise Cleary. Fr. Maxwell organised the team, while Naoise did the training. This victory had been a long time coming, but it did not inspire the next generation of hurlers who failed to build on the 1945 success.