Corofin get Intermediate Football Championship campaign off to a winning start

posted 28 Jul 2014, 08:00 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 28 Jul 2014, 08:03 ]
Intermediate Football Championship     Corofin 4-13 Kilmurry Ibrickane 1-7

July 27th, 2014

Corofin's Intermediate footballers got their 2014 championship campaign off to a winning start with a comfortable win over a depleted Kilmurry Ibrickane side, winning by 4-13 to 1-7, in a game played in Miltown on Sunday July 27th.

A 1st minute goal for Kilmurry Ibrickane proved to be only a minor setback for Corofin, who responed with points from John Keane and Stephen Heagney. Corofin struggled with their shooting in the early stages of the 1st half, but a goal from Heagney put Corofin into the lead, which they would retain for the remainder of the game. Further first half goals from Jamie Malone and John Keane  gave Corofin a commanding half-time lead of 3-6 to 1-2. Corofin's 6 first half points came from the boot of Malone (2), Keane, Heagney, Gearóid Kelly and Damien Ryan (free).

Corofin continued to dominate the 2nd half, and were able to slot over points at ease. Jamie Malone added 3 further points in the second half to finish as Corofin's chief marksman with a final tally of 1-5. John Keane, Stephen Heagney, Shay Malone and David Corbett all chipped in with 2nd half points, while a goal from substitute Eoin Davoren rounded off a resounding victory. Corofin were able to empty the bench during the second half, with the focus turning to the second game in the group which will be against Kildysert.

The following was the team line-out and scorers: 

1.   Kieran Carkill

2.   Keith O'Loughlin

3.   Eamonn Malone

4.   Diarmuid Cleary

5.   Shay Malone 0-1

6.   Manus Malone

7.   Brendan Keane

8.   David Corbett 0-1

9.   Damien Ryan 0-1 (0-1 free)

10. Colm Rice

11. Jamie Malone 1-5

12. John Keane 1-2

13. Gearóid Kelly 0-1

14. Stephen Heagney 1-2

15. Jason Tierney

Eoin Davoren 1-0     for     Stephen Heagney
Matthew Shannon    for      Damien Ryan
Darren Malone         for     Gearóid Kelly
Michael Kelly           for     Colm Rice
Eoin Clancy              for     Manus Malone