Corofin victorious in opening round of Intermediate Hurling Championship

posted 13 May 2017, 14:07 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 14 May 2017, 09:16 ]

Intermediate Hurling Championship, Round 1

Corofin 0-15  Killanena 0-8 

May 13th, 2017

Corofin got their 2017 Intermediate Hurling Championship campaign off to a winning start after getting the better of Killanena in their first round clash which was played in Gurteen on Saturday, May 13th. 

While the opening stages of the game were evenly contested, it took until the 7th minute for the games first score to arrive, when Killanena's Andrew Flaherty pointed from play. Corofin's response was almost instant, with points from corner-forwards Eoin Davoren and Michael Kelly. A Mark Flaherty free levelled the game before Stephen Heagney and Mark Flaherty exchanged points to leave the sides tied yet again at 0-3 a-piece. A brace of Heagney frees gave Corofin a 2 point advantage, but they were pegged back once again by Killanena with points from Andrew and Mark Flaherty. Fionn Clancy registered Corofin's sixth point which was followed by a brace from wing-back Damien Ryan including a spectacular sideline cut to give a Corofin a slender 3 point lead at the break. Half-Time score: Corofin 0-8 Killanena 0-5.

Two points from Jamie Malone in the opening minutes of the second half stretched Corofin's advantage on the scoreboard out to 5. Mark Flaherty and Michael Kelly then exchanged points before Killanena added two further points to reduce Corofin's lead to just 3 points at 0-11 to 0-8. However, Corofin stepped up a gear during the final minutes of the game, scoring four unanswered points from Declan Stack, Damien Ryan and 2 Heagney frees to leave 7 points between the sides when the final whistle blew. Full-Time score: Corofin 0-15 Killanena 0-8.

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers:

1. Ronnie Meere  

2. Shay Malone

3. Donnchadh Kelleher

4. John Rees

5. Conor O'Loughlin

6. Martin Tierney 

7. Damien Ryan 0-3 (0-2 frees, 0-1 sideline)

8. Jamie Malone 0-2

9. Stephen Heagney 0-5 (0-4 frees)

10. David Corbett

11. Fionn Clancy 0-1  

12. Gearóid Kelly

13. Eoin Davoren 0-1

14. Declan Stack 0-1 

15. Michael Kelly 0-2  

Brendan Keane   for   Shay Malone