U-21 Hurlers progress to Semi-Final

posted 11 Mar 2017, 10:46 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 11 Mar 2017, 13:43 ]

U-21 C Hurling Championship, Quarter Final

Corofin 3-15  Éire Óg(2) 0-2 

March 11th, 2017

Corofin got their U-21 Hurling Championship campaign underway with an emphatic 22 point win over Éire Óg's second string, in a Quarter Final tie played in unseasonal March sunshine in Meelick on Saturday March 11th. 

While Corofin were lacking in numbers, with only 16 players togged, they proved to have far too much quality for a young Éire Óg outfit. It was the Townies who got the opening score of the game with a point from play after 5 minutes, but when Corofin's Gearóid Cahill pulled on a long ball to the back of the net, it was all one way traffic for the remainder of the game. Corofin got their second goal minutes later, when Maccon Byrne plucked another long ball out of the sky, and turned and kicked to the net to put Corofin very much in the driving seat. Corofin added first half points from the sticks of Michael Kelly, Fergus Killeen and Cian O'Dea, with Corofin being denied a 3rd goal when a Kelly penalty went over the bar rather than under. Half-Time score: Corofin 2-10 Éire Óg (2) 0-1.

Corofin began the second half at a blistering pace, and had 1-1 scored inside the opening 2 minutes. Maccon Byrne scored his second goal of the game after being played through by Cian O'Dea. However, this would prove to Byrne's final action of the game, as he was sent off just minutes later after picking up a second yellow card. A pointed free would prove to be Éire Óg's solitary score of the second half, as despite being a man down, Corofin continued to dominate and continued to pick off some fine points through Cillian Clancy, Damien O'Loughlin, Michael Kelly and captain Fergus Killeen. Full-Time score: Corofin 3-15 Éire Óg (2) 0-2.

While Corofin will be pleased with the performance, they will be well aware that they will face a much sterner test in the semi-final which is scheduled to take place on the weekend of March 25th/26th, with Whitegate, Kilmaley (2) or Bodyke providing the opposition.

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers (13 a side):

1. Seán O'Brien  

2. Shay Malone

4. Stephen Burke

5. Pádraic Cleary

6. Damien O'Loughlin 0-1 

7. Liam McGrath

8. Cian O'Dea 0-1

9. Fergus Killeen 0-5 (0-2 frees)

10. Cillian Clancy 0-1

11. Michael Kelly 0-6 (0-5 frees)  

12. Tola Neylon 

13. Maccon Byrne 2-0 

15. Gearóid Cahill 1-1  

Rory Conroy         for   Liam McGrath
Michael Southby   for   Cian O'Dea
Ethan Neylon        for   Gearóid Cahill