Corofin come up just short in U-21 Football Final

posted 12 Nov 2016, 08:40 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 12 Nov 2016, 15:00 ]

U-21 B Football Final

Wolfe Tones 1-3  Corofin 0-5 

November 12th, 2016

Corofin suffered defeat by the minimum of margins when they contested the 2016 U-21 B Football Final against Wolfe Tones, which was plaqyed in heavy underfoot conditions at Éire Óg on Saturday November 12th.

In what turned out to be a low scoring affair, just three points were scored in the first half, with Wolfe Tones holding a slender one point lead at the interval at 0-2 to 0-1. Eoin Davoren had got the opening score of the game with a pointed free, but Wolfe Tones responded with a brace of points to take a lead which they would not relinquish for the remainder of the game.

Scores continued to be hard to come by in the opening stages of the second half. However, the pivotal moment of the game arrived when a Wolfe Tones attack ended with the ball being fisted to the Corofin net. Wolfe Tones were almost in for a second goal just moments later, only for Corofin goalkeeper Liam Corbett to expertly deflect the goal bound effort over the bar. Wolfe Tones now held a commanding 1-3 to 0-1 lead, but it was Corofin who dominated the remainder of the game, and 4 points without reply from Shay Malone, Eoin Davoren (2) and Colm Rice left just the minimum between the sides, as the game entered injury time. The remarkable comeback was almost complete when Corofin were awarded a free in the dying seconds to level the game. However, the free dropped just short and Wolfe Tones hung on for victory as the final whistle blew just seconds later. Full-Time score: Wolfe Tones 1-3 Corofin 0-5. 

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers:

1. Liam Corbett  

2. Colm Rice 0-1

3. Stephen Burke

4. Liam McGrath

5. Shay Malone 0-1

6. Conor O'Loughlin  

7. Ross Hayes

8. Eoin Clancy 

9. David Corbett

10. Cillian Clancy

11. James Tierney  

12. Pádraic O'Dea

13. Aidan Collins    

14. Eoin Davoren 0-3 (0-2 frees)  

15. Ian Reidy  

Damien O'Loughlin   for   Aidan Collins
Conor Wynne           for   Ian Reidy
Eoin Keane              for   Cillian Clancy