Corofin claim back to back U-13 Hurling titles

posted 1 Oct 2016, 13:52 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 2 Oct 2016, 02:36 ]

U-13 B Hurling Final

Corofin 0-14  Crusheen/Tubber 1-6

October 1st, 2016

Corofin won back to back U-13 hurling titles following a hard fought 5 point victory over amalgamation side Crusheen/Tubber in the final which was played in Ruan on Saturday October 1st.

Crusheen/Tubber got off to the better start, scoring the opening two points of the game. However once Corofin settled, they quickly took a firm grip on proceedings. They would score 6 unanswered points, all coming from the stick of Killian O'Connor. In fact, O'Connor would end up scoring all of Corofin's scores in a wonderful display of marksmanship. Crusheen/Tubber stopped the rot with a pointed free, but Corofin and O'Connor registered the final two points of the half to leave 5 points between the sides at the interval. Half-Time score: Corofin 0-8 Crusheen/Tubber 0-3.

Both sides registered a point a piece on the resumption, before a four point scoring burst point from O'Connor put Corofin into a commanding lead at 0-13 to 0-4. However the amalgamation side would not go down without a fight and a goal from a long range free combined with two points from play left just four points between the sides, as the game entered its concluding stages. Crusheen/Tubber continued to pile on the pressure, but the Corofin defence, well marshalled by Cillian McGroary and Dylan Gleeson, held firm to ensure no further scores would be conceded. Fittingly, the final score of the game fell to O'Connor as he put over his, and his sides 14th point to leave Corofin leading by 5 points when referee Martin Leahy blew the full-time whistle. Full-Time score: Corofin 0-14 Crusheen/Tubber 1-6.  

This success, combined with last years success in the U-13 A Final ensures that the future is bright for underage hurling in Corofin. Great credit is due to the many coaches involved in underage teams in the club, with Corofin now competing at a high level against the very best teams in the county.

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers:

1. Michael Crowe

2. Gary Gilligan

3. Cillian McGroary

4. Seán Singleton

5. Cormac Walsh

6. Dylan Gleeson

7. Colin Fitzgerald

8. Marc O'Loughlin

9. Eoin O'Brien

10. Adam O'Loughlin

11. Killian O'Connor (Capt.) 0-14 (0-10 frees) 

12. Oisín Madigan 

13. James Organ   

14. Aidan Moloney   

15. Shane Meehan  

Dara Kenny
Josh McNamara
Mark Burke
Evan Doolin
Joshua Fitzgerald
Jack Crowe
Bobby Bane

Declan Fitzgerald
Bernard Madigan
Shane Neylon