Second half goal blitz sees Clondegad overcome Corofin in U-21 Football Semi-Final

posted 6 Nov 2017, 04:06 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 6 Nov 2017, 06:30 ]

U-21 B Football Championship, Semi-Final

Clondegad 4-8  Corofin 1-5   

November 5th, 2017

Four second half goals saw Clondegad eventually overcome the challenge of an injury depleted Corofin side in the semi-final of the 2017 U-21 B Football Championship, which was played in heavy underfoot conditions in Coolmeen on Sunday November 5th.

Corofin got off to a perfect start with a bullet of a goal from full forward Gearóid Cahill, after he was put through by Seán O'Brien. Clondegad drew parity with three points without reply, but a brace of pointed frees from Cahill edged Corofin back in front. Clondegad's Cillian Brennan pointed the last score of the half to leave just the minimum between the sides when the half-time whistle blew. Half-Time score: Corofin 1-2 Clondegad 0-4.

Clondegad were the livlier side when the game resumed for the second half. A pointed free from Ian Carrig was followed by a brace of goals inside a minute to leave Corofin with an uphill battle to climb. Corofin's cause wasn't helped when they were forced to replace both Seán O'Brien and Liam McGrath due to injury. Cahill did stop the rot with his third pointed free, but 2 further goals from Clondegad put the result of the game beyond any doubt. Clondegad added a further three points. while Cahill added 2 further pointed frees which would prove to be no more than consolation scores when the final whistle blew. Full-Time score: Clondegad 4-8 Corofin 1-5.

The unavailability of several key Corofin players due to injury proved a telling factor in this contest, but this resulted in several minor players receiving valuable game time as the Corofin Minor Footballers prepare for a county final against Kilmurry Ibrickane, with the date, time and venue for this final yet to be confirmed. 

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers:

1. Aidan Collins  

2. Rory Conroy

3. Stephen Burke

4. Liam McGrath

5. Cathal O'Brien

6. Damien O'Loughlin   

7. Shay Malone

8. Ross Hayes  

9. Conor Wynne

10. Michael Kelly     

11. Enda Collins   

12. Liam Cosgrove 

13. Ian Reidy

14. Gearóid Cahill 1-5 (0-5 f)

15. Seán O'Brien

Darragh Power   for   Seán O'Brien (inj.)
Adrian Shannon   for   Liam McGrath (inj.)