Second half dominance sees Broadford overcome Corofin in Intermediate Hurling Championship

posted 9 Aug 2015, 06:46 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 9 Aug 2015, 13:08 ]

Intermediate Hurling Championship, Round 2

Broadford 2-22 Corofin 0-15

August 9th, 2015

Despite only trailing by a solitary point at half-time, Corofin suffered a heavy defeat to Broadford in Round 2 of the Intermediate Hurling Championship, which was played in Newmarket on Sunday, August 9th. 

The first half proved to be a real close affair, with very little separating the sides throughout. Broadford, playing with the aid of the wind for the opening half hour, scored the first two points of the contest, before Corofin scored three points in quick succession to take the lead. Paudie Barry got Corofin off the mark with a point from play, with Stephen Heagney adding two further points from placed balls. The two sides continued to exchange points for the remainder of the half, by the end of which Broadford held a one point advantage. Half-Time score: Broadford 0-10 Corofin 0-9.

Corofin scored three of the opening five points of the second half, through the stick of Cian O'Dea, Stephen Heagney (free) and Eoin Davoren. The sides were now level at 12 points a piece and it seemed that the result of this game was going to go right down to the wire. Broadford had different ideas however, and they steamed ahead on the score-board, scoring 1-8 without reply - their goal coming from their scorer in chief, Padraig Hickey. Corofin goal-keeper Ronnie Meere had earlier produced an excellent save to keep Broadford at bay, but he was powerless to prevent Hickey raising the green flag just minutes later. A second Broadford goal soon after really put the tin hat on it, and Broadford closed out the game to emerge easy winners by the finish. Full-Time score: Broadford 2-22 Corofin 0-15.  

For Corofin, all is not lost as they now enter Round 3 of the Championship, where they will play one of the four winners from the losers group from Round 1. Broadford meanwhile, are safely through to the Quarter Finals.

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers:

1. Ronnie Meere

2. Brendan Keane

3. Donnachadh Kelleher

4. Paul Carkill

5. Manus Malone

6. Damien Ryan

7. Paudie Barry 0-1

8. Cian O'Dea 0-1

9. Fionn Clancy

10. John Keane

11. Eamonn Malone 

12. Eoin Davoren 0-2

13. Stephen Heagney 0-8 (0-7 frees)

14. Luke O'Loughlin

15. Jamie Malone 0-3

Jack O'Dea          for   John Keane
Diarmaid Cleary   for   Paudie Barry
Michael Kelly       for   Paul Carkill
Liam Corbett        for   Fionn Clancy