Heartbreak for Corofin as Cooraclare edge Minor Final

posted 20 Sep 2014, 14:09 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 20 Sep 2014, 14:11 ]
Minor Football Division 2 Final     Cooraclare 1-8 Corofin 1-5

September 20th, 2014

Commiserations to the Corofin minor football team who were defeated by Cooraclare in the Division 2 Final which was played in Miltown Malbay on Saturday, September 20th.

In what proved to be a low-scoring affair, there was little between the 2 teams throughout the game. Both teams were in front during different stages of the first half, but by the half-time time break it was Cooraclare who held a slender one point lead, 0-4 to 0-3, the Corofin points coming from Damien O'Loughlin (2) and Aidan Collins. Cooraclare had played with the aid of the breeze in the first half.

Cooraclare scored the opening 2 points of the second half, but points from Michael Kelly and substitute Dean Ruane (free) reduced the gap to a single point. Cooraclare pushed on again with 2 further points to lead again by three, and the game now seemed to be moving in Cooraclare's favour. However, Corofin had other ideas, and a well worked move ended with Shay Malone finishing to the net to draw the sides level, Cooraclare 0-8 Corofin 1-5. With less than 5 minutes remaining on the clock, a replay seemed to be on the cards. But there was still one final twist to come in this game, when Cooraclare manufactured a goal from what proved to be their final attack of the game. This goal restored their 3 point advantage. It was now a goal or nothing for Corofin, and for the final 2 minutes it was backs to the wall stuff for Cooraclare as Corofin bombarded the Cooraclare goal with numerous goal bound efforts, but Cooraclare held out in the end to emerge victorious by 1-8 to 1-5.

Well done to all the players who put in a huge effort throughout the year. For some of these players, attention now switches to next Sunday's (Sept 28th) Intermediate Football Final versus Wolfe Tones. Well done also to the management team of Seamus Clancy, Colm Clancy and Kieran Reidy who clocked up an enormous amount of hours in coaching and preparing the team.

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers: 

1.   Jason Courtney

2.   Conor Hillary

3.   Stephen Burke

4.   Rory Conroy

5.   Seán Hillary

6.   Colm Rice (Capt.)

7.   Conor O'Loughlin

8.   Eoin Clancy

9.   Fergus Killeen

10. Ian Reidy

11. Michael Kelly 0-1

12. Damien O'Loughlin 0-2

13. Cillian Clancy

14. Shay Malone 1-0

15. Aidan Collins 0-1

Dean Ruane 0-1 (0-1 free)   for   Aidan Collins
Aidan Collins                        for   Fergus Killeen
Liam McGrath                      for   Ian Reidy

Subs Not Used:
Michael Southby
Lee O'Donovan
Eoin Hogan
Cathal Corbett