Great second half performance sees Corofin/Ruan capture U-14 Hurling Title

posted 7 Jun 2013, 15:06 by Unknown user   [ updated 8 Jun 2013, 02:48 ]
A great second half performance saw Corofin/Ruan overcome the challenge of Tulla in the final of the  U-14 B Hurling Championship, played in Clarecastle on Friday, June 7th. Tulla got off to the better start and 3 early goals put them into a commanding lead. Corofin/Ruan however responded with 2 goals of their own through Ashley Brohan, and despite playing against a strong breeze, Corofin/Ruan only trailed by 5 points at half-time, 3-5 to 2-3.

A fourth goal for Tulla early in the second half proved only to be a minor setback, as Corofin/Ruan began to up their performance and goals from Colin Haugh (2), Gearóid Cahill, Seán O'Brien and Kevin Keane put Corofin/Ruan into the lead. A Tulla penalty was brilliantly kept out by the Corofin/Ruan defence and despite Tulla scoring their fifth goal late in the game, Corofin/Ruan held out to win by 8 points at the end, 7-7 to 5-5. A
t the end of the game, joint-captains Gearóid Cahill and Colin Haugh accepted the cup from Bord na nÓg Iomáint Chairman Martin Reynolds.

The following was the team line-out and scorers: 

1.   Josh Ryan

2.   Conor Wynne

3.   Eoin McMahon

4.   Liam McGrath

5.   Seán Danagher

6.   Tola Neylon

7.   Eoin Lean

8.   Seán O'Brien 1-0

9.   Gearóid Cahill 1-3 (1-2 frees)

10. Caimin Whelan

11.  Ashley Brohan 2-0

12.  Ryan Fitzpatrick

13.  Kevin Keane 1-0

14.  Colin Haugh 2-4 (0-3 frees)

15.  Eoin Burke

16. Adrian Shannon for 10. Caimin Whelan
17. Padraig Cleary   for 15. Eoin Burke

18. Padraig Casey
19. Ethan Neylon
20. Eoin Fitzgerald
21. Conor O'Brien
22. Cian O'Loughlin
23. Gearóid Hanrahan
24. Ronan Corey

Michael Neylon, Donal O'Loughlin, Dermot McMahon, Declan Haugh, Joe O'Donovan

Corofin/Ruan : U-14 B Hurling Champions 2013

(double-click on photo to view larger image)

Well done to all involved!