Ennistymon claim the honours in U-14 Football Final

posted 25 Jul 2015, 12:39 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 25 Jul 2015, 13:09 ]

U-14 A Football Final

Ennistymon 3-12 Corofin 2-5

July 25th, 2015

Ennistymon were victorious in the U-14 A Football Final when they proved too strong for a valiant Corofin side, in a game played in near perfect conditions in Miltown Malbay, on Saturday July 25th. 

Ennistymon got off to the better start, and had 1-3 clocked up on the score-board, before Corofin finally opened their account with a point from corner-forward Killian O'Conner in the 20th minute. Ennistymon replied with their 4th point, but their lead was cut to just 3 points when a looping ball from Josh Ryan finished up in the Ennistymon net. A second point from Killian O'Connor reduced the gap even further to just 2 points, but Ennistymon finished the half the stronger, and two points in quick succession gave the team in Black and White a 4 point cushion at the break.               Half-Time score: Ennistymon 1-6 Corofin 1-2.

Corofin were quick off the blocks in the second half, and attacked the Ennistymon goal from the off. They dominated the opening 10 minutes and scored the first 3 points of the half through Josh Ryan (2) and Robin Mounsey to leave just the minimum between the sides. However, Corofin were unable to kick on and Ennistymon regained control of the game, and began adding to their points tally. Ennistymon found the Corofin goal-keeper in superb form, with Luke Neylon making some outstanding saves. However, he was powerless to prevent Ennistymon scoring 2 second half goals. Their second goal from the penalty spot put them in a very commanding position, with their third goal putting the result beyond any doubt. A late goal from Corofin centre-back Cian O'Loughlin was but a mere consolation score, as the full-time whistle sounded shortly afterwards, with the full-time score showing Ennistymon 3-12 Corofin 2-5. 

While defeat was Corofin's lot on this occasion, they can be immensely proud of their battling performance, and of their performances throughout the campaign. The future is bright for this talented bunch of players, and success in terms of silverware is not too far away. Thanks to the management team of Michael Neylon, Barry McGroary, Peadar O'Brien, Seán Keane and Ger O'Halloran for their hardwork and committment, while a special thanks to all the parents for their on-going support.

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers:

1. Luke Neylon

2. Conor Leen

3. Kevin Keane (Joint Captain)

4. Cillian McGroary

5. Diarmuid Cahill

6. Cian O'Loughlin 1-0

7. Seán Danagher

8. Eoin Fitzgerald 

9. Oliver Malone

10. Cian Doolin

11. Robin Mounsey 0-1

12. Shane O'Brien

13. Killian O'Connor 0-2

14. Josh Ryan (Joint Captain) 1-2 (0-1 free)

15. James Collins

Michael Cahill       for   Shane O'Brien
Cormac Whelan    for   James Collins
Luke Livingstone   for   Cillian McGroary
Colin Farr              for   Cian Doolin
Mark Livingstone   for   Diarmuid Cahill
Evan Flanagan      for   Killian O'Connor

Other Panel Members:
Gearóid Hanrahan
Cathal O'Halloran