Éire Óg prove too strong for Corofin in Senior Football Championship

posted 19 Jun 2017, 04:24 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 19 Jun 2017, 10:50 ]

Senior Football Championship, Round 1

Éire Óg 3-10  Corofin 1-3  

June 18th, 2017

Corofin suffered a comprehensive 13 point defeat to Éire Óg in the first round of the 2017 Senior Football Championship campaign which was played in a sunny Cusack Park on Sunday June 18th. 

The game was 9 minutes old when the games first score arrived with Éire Óg's Dean Ryan pointing from play. Eimhin Courtney then doubled his sides advantage before Corofin goal-keeper Kieran Carkill prevented an almost certain Éire Óg goal with a fine save. Eoin Davoren got Corofin off the mark with a point from play after 15 minutes, however this would prove to be Corofin's only score of the first half. Two Éire Óg frees from the boot of Shane Daniels as well as a second point for Eimhin Courtney stretched Éire Óg's lead to 4 points as the first half drew to a close. Half-Time score: Éire Óg 0-5 Corofin 0-1.

Éire Óg began the second half as they finished the first, with Daniels and Courtney scoring further points from play. Substitute Damien Ryan made an instant impact for Corofin when he scored Corofin's second point just a minute after being introduced. Any hopes of a Corofin fightback were quickly quenched however when Éire Óg intercepted a Corofin pass in defence and Gavin Cooney raced through to finish to the net. The next 15 minutes was all Éire Óg, as the 'Townies' went on a scoring spree scoring 2-3 without reply - the 2nd goal coming from Dean Ryan with the 3rd goal resulting from a goalmouth scramble. Corofin to their credit kept battling to the end and scored the final 2 scores of the game - a goal from Eoin Davoren and a point from centre forward Fionn Clancy. Full-Time score: Éire Óg 3-10 Corofin 1-3.

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers:

1. Kieran Carkill  

2. Brendan Keane

3. Stephen Burke

4. John Rees

5. Conor O'Loughlin

6. Daragh Clancy 

7. Donnchadh Kelleher

8. John Keane 

9. David Corbett

10. Michael Kelly

11. Fionn Clancy 0-1  

12. Shay Malone

13. Eoin Davoren 1-1

14. Gearóid Kelly 

15. Jamie Malone  

Damien O'Loughlin   for   Stephen Burke
Cilléin Mullins            for   Shay Malone
Damien Ryan 0-1      for   David Corbett