Corofin win historic first U-21 Hurling title

posted 14 Apr 2017, 15:12 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 14 Apr 2017, 16:26 ]

U-21 C Hurling Final

Corofin 3-13  Scariff 1-8 

April 14th, 2017

Corofin claimed their first ever U-21 Hurling Championship following victory over Scariff in the 2017 U-21 C Final which was played in wet conditions in Cusack Park on Good Friday, April 14th. 

Corofin settled quickly into the game, and had 4 points registered on the scoreboard from the sticks of Maccon Byrne, Cillian Clancy, Michael Kelly and Gearóid Cahill, before Scariff opened their account with a pointed free. Fergus Killeen added his sides fifth point before Michael Kelly struck for the games opening goal after been played through by Maccon Byrne. Corofin now held a sizeable seven point advantage, but this lead was quickly pegged back to four when a long distance Scariff free dropped in around the Corofin square and was finished to the back of the net. Two further Scariff points left just 2 points between the sides at 1-5 to to 0-3. However Corofin finished out the half with four unanswered points from Kelly (3) and Cahill to lead by six points at the break. Half-Time score: Corofin 1-9 Scariff 1-3.

The opening stages of the second half proved to be a very tight affair. The Corofin forward duo of Kelly and Cahill raided for further points either side of a Scariff pointed free. Corofin were then awarded a penalty following a foul on Cillian Clancy. Captain Fergus Killeen duly dispatched the sliotar to the net to strengthen Corofin's grip on the game. Scariff responded with another pointed free but their fate was as good as sealed when Cahill struck for Corofin's third goal by finishing to the net after picking up a loose ball from a long range Killeen free. Scariff kept attacking the Corofin goal and while three converted frees did reduce the margin somewhat, it would prove too little too late, as Corofin centre-back Damien O'Loughlin closed out the game with 2 long range points to leave 11 points between the sides when the full-time whistle blew.    Full-Time score: Corofin 3-13 Scariff 1-8.

Corofin captain Fergus Killeen was forced off with an ankle injury in the final minutes of the second half but the pain was undoubtedly eased somewhat when he was presented with the cup by Clare GAA Chairman Joe Cooney at the end of the game. U-21 Hurling silverware was a long time coming for Corofin who will now look to build on this success in the years ahead.

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers (13 a side):

1. Seán O'Brien  

2. Shay Malone

4. Stephen Burke

5. Liam McGrath

6. Damien O'Loughlin 0-2 

7. Pádraic Cleary

8. Conor O'Loughlin

9. Fergus Killeen 1-1 (1-0 pen)

10. Cillian Clancy 0-1

11. Cian O'Dea   

12. Maccon Byrne 0-1 

13. Michael Kelly 1-5 

15. Gearóid Cahill 1-3  

Michael Southby   for   Pádraic Cleary
Rory Conroy         for   Liam McGrath (inj)
Tola Neylon          for   Cillian Clancy
Ethan Neylon       for   Fergus Killeen (inj)

Other Panel Members:
Enda Collins
Adrian Shannon
Eoin Clancy (inj)

Ambrose Heagney
Paddy Meere
Ronnie Meere
Gearóid Kelly
Matthew Shannon

First Aid:
Stevie Malone

Corofin - U-21 C Hurling Champions 2017