Corofin victorious in U-16 Division 2 B Football Final

posted 12 May 2013, 16:44 by Unknown user   [ updated 12 May 2013, 17:17 ]
Congratulations to the Corofin U-16 footballers who won the U-16 Division 2 B Final by beating Clooney-Quin in a windy Ennistymon on Sunday May 12th, on a scoreline of 3-12 to 1-2. Playing with the aid of a strong breeze in the first half, Corofin led at half-time by 2-8 to 1-0. Both of Corofin’s goals were scored by Dean Ruane who also scored 5 first half points. Ian Reidy, Conor O’Loughlin and captain Shay Malone also pointed in the first half. Clooney-Quin’s only score in the first half was a goal from a penalty just before half-time. Despite playing against the breeze in the second half, Corofin continued to dominate. Conor O’Loughlin scored Corofin’s third goal while Dean Ruane (3) and Damien O’Loughlin raised white flags as Corofin ran out easy winners. At the end of the game, Bord na nOg Peil Treasurer Joe Kelly presented the shield to Corofin captain Shay Malone.  

The following was the team line-out and scorers: 

1.   Eoin Leen

2.   Nathan Bluett

3.   Aidan Collins

4.   Rory Conroy

5.   Michael Southby

6.   Darren Ruane

7.   Shay Malone (Captain) 0-1

8.   Conor O'Loughlin 1-1

9.   Stephen Burke

16.  Seán Meehan

11.  Dean Ruane 2-8 (1-7 frees)

12.  Ian Reidy 0-1

13.  Eoin Hogan

14.  Damien O'Loughlin 0-1

15.  Cillian Clancy


17.  Gary Ruane for 16. Seán Meehan

10.  Liam McGrath for 13. Eoin Hogan 

Also on the panel was Cathal Corbett who was unavailable due to injury.

Team mentors were Kevin Malone, Kieran Reidy and Colm Clancy. 

Well done to all involved!