Corofin U-21 footballers begin Championship campaign with resounding victory

posted 22 Oct 2017, 07:54 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 23 Oct 2017, 04:32 ]

U-21 B Football Championship, Quarter Final 

Corofin 6-13  Clarecastle 0-2  

October 22nd, 2017

Corofin easily overcame the challenge of Clarecastle in the opening round of the 2017 U-21 B Football Championship which was played in Clarecastle on Sunday October 22nd.

It was Clarecastle who got the opening score of the game with a point inside the first five minutes, but from then on it was all one way traffic as Corofin took a firm grip on proceedings. Three points in succession from the boot of Gearóid Cahill were followed by a brace of points from midfielder Ross Hayes. Centre-Back Damien O'Loughlin then raided up the field to score Corofin's first goal. Enda Collins scored the first of his 4 points from play, before Cahill struck for the first of his hat-trick of goals. Clarecastle stopped the rot with their second point after intercepting a loose free out of the Corofin defence, but Corofin finished the first half with conviction with goals from James Tierney and Cahill, along with a second point for Collins. Half-Time score: Corofin 4-7 Clarecastle 0-2.

On the resumption, Ross Hayes converted his second point, before Cahill completed his hat-trick of goals after dispatching a penalty to the net. This proved to be Cahill's last kick of the game as he was immediately substituted by Ethan Neylon. Corofin added further points from Liam Cosgrove, Tierney, Hayes and Collins (2), with Cilléin Mullins adding his sides sixth goal after palming a Hayes pass to the net. Corofin will know that a stiffer challenge lies ahead in the semi-final as they await the winners of the other Quarter-Final tie between Clondegad and Doonbeg. Full-Time score: Corofin 6-13 Clarecastle 0-2.  

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers:

1. Ian Reidy  

2. Pádraic Cleary

3. Stephen Burke

4. Liam McGrath

5. Cathal O'Brien

6. Damien O'Loughlin 1-0  

7. Shay Malone

8. Cilléin Mullins 1-0  

9. Ross Hayes 0-4 (0-1 f)

10. Michael Kelly     

11. Enda Collins 0-4  

12. Liam Cosgrove 0-1 

13. James Tierney 1-1

14. Gearóid Cahill 3-3 (1-0 pen, 0-2 f)

15. Rory Conroy

Ethan Neylon   for   Gearóid Cahill