Corofin/Ruan lose out in Minor 'A' Shield Final

posted 21 Sep 2013, 17:29 by Unknown user   [ updated 24 Sep 2013, 12:24 ]
Minor 'A' Hurling Shield Final     Clonlara 1-20 Corofin/Ruan 3-11

September 20th, 2013

The Corofin/Ruan amalgamation lost out to Clonlara in the Minor 'A' Hurling Shield Final, which was played in Kilkishen on Friday September 20th. Corofin/Ruan had already defeated Clonlara in the group stages of the competition earlier in the season, but that result was to have little bearing on this game as the amalgamation were missing key personnel for the Shield Final due to injuries, suspension and players away in college.

Clonlara were quick off the mark with 2 points inside the opening minute before midfielder Conal O'hAiniféin responded with the opening point for Corofin/Ruan. Clonlara used the advantage of a slight breeze in the first half to open up an 8 point lead at half-time, 1-12 to 0-7. Michael Lyons kept Corofin/Ruan in touch during the first half with 3 pointed frees, while Liam Corbett, Eoin Davoren and Michael Kelly chipped in with a point each, with Davoren's score being particularly impressive. The Corofin/Ruan centre-forward caught Liam Corbett's long puck out amongst a host of players, and then turned and struck over the score of the game.  

Clonlara's lead over Corofin/Ruan stretched out to 9 points midway through the second half. A Liam O'Donovan goal reduced the deficit to 6 points and Corofin/Ruan were now putting real pressure on Clonlara.
A melee involving nearly every one of the thirty players on the field held up play as the game entered the closing stages. A Michael Kelly goal, and a goal from a close-in free from goalkeeper and captain Liam Corbett reduced the deficit to a single goal, but time ran out for the amalgamation, and Clonlara held out to emerge victorious by 1-20 to 3-11.    

The following was the team line-out and scorers: 

1.   Liam Corbett (Capt.) 1-2 (1-2 frees)

2.   Seán Hillary

3.   Jack O'Dea

4.   Stephen Burke

5.   Colm Rice

6.   Fergus Killeen

7.   Jason Courtney

8.   Conal O'hAiniféin 0-1

9.   Cian O'Dea

10. Conor O'Loughlin

11. Eoin Davoren 0-1

12. Diarmaid Cleary

13. Michael Lyons 0-5 (0-5 frees)

14. Liam O'Donovan 1-1

15. Michael Kelly 1-1

Shay Malone   for   Seán Hillary

Panel Members:
Eoin Keane
Micheál Duffy
Damien O'Loughlin
Diarmuid O'Loughlin
David Corbett
Dean Fitzgerald
Cillian Clancy
Eoin Clancy
Lee O'Donovan
Conor Hillary

Corofin/Ruan - Minor 'A' Shield Finalists 2013
(double-click on photo to view larger image)