Corofin/Ruan bow out of U-21 Hurling Championship

posted 17 Mar 2018, 11:07 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 17 Mar 2018, 11:41 ]

U-21 B Hurling Championship, Quarter Final

Clonlara 0-16  Corofin/Ruan 0-10   

March 17th, 2018

Corofin/Ruan were forced to play second best to Clonlara in the Quarter Final of the 2018 U-21 B Hurling Championship, which was played in bitterly cold conditions in Meelick on Saturday March 17th.

Despite Corofin/Ruan having the advantage of a strong breeze in the first half, it was Clonlara who got off to the better start, registering two pointed frees inside the opening minutes. Corofin/Ruan eventually found their rhythm and got off the mark with a point from the stick of Colin Haugh. Five unanswered points from full-forward Gearóid Cahill gave the amalgamation side a four point lead at 0-6 to 0-2. However, Clonlara finished the half the stronger, and clawed back a brace of points to leave just two points between the sides at the interval. Half-Time score: Corofin/Ruan 0-6 Clonlara 0-4.

With the advantage of the strong breeze in the second half, Clonlara quickly turned a two point deficit into a four point advantage, scoring six points without reply, before Cahill stopped the rot with a pointed free for Corofin/Ruan. The amalgamation side suffered a decisive blow when centre-back Damien O'Loughlin was forced out of the game through injury. The loss of O'Loughlin proved pivotal as Clonlara found scores more easier to come by. Corofin/Ruan battled to the end however, but Clonlara finished the stronger and out-scored their opponents by 0-6 to 0-2 during the final quarter of the game, to run out six point winners. Full-Time score: Clonlara 0-16 Corofin/Ruan 0-10.

The following was the Corofin/Ruan team line-out and scorers:

1. Kevin Keane  

2. Shay Malone

3. Michael Lyons

4. Eoin Fitzgerald

5. Seán O'Brien

6. Damien O'Loughlin   

7. Conpr Wynne

8. Cillian Clancy  

9. Ryan Fitzpatrick

10. Ashley Brohan     

11. Colin Haugh  0-1   

12. Barry Heagney 

13. Robin Mounsey

14. Gearóid Cahill  0-9(0-8f)

15. Mark Corry  

Seán Danagher   for   Ryan Fitzpatrick
Nathan Bluett      for   Damien O'Loughlin (inj.)
Paraic Cleary      for   Mark Corry
Declan Brennan  for   Colin Haugh
Adrian Shannon  for   Barry Heagney