Corofin/Ruan edge out Tulla in U-21 Hurling Championship

posted 10 Mar 2018, 10:59 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 10 Mar 2018, 16:33 ]

U-21 B Hurling Championship, First Round

Corofin/Ruan 0-16  Tulla 1-12   

March 10th, 2018

The Corofin/Ruan amalgamation overcame the challenge of Tulla by the minimum of margins in the opening round of the U-21 B Hurling Championship, which was played in heavy underfoot conditions in Newmarket on Saturday March 10th.

Tulla pointed the first score of the game in the opening minutes but three points from the stick of Gearóid Cahill gave Corofin/Ruan a lead which they would not relinquish for the remainder of the half. A brace of Tulla points kept the East Clare side in contention, but three points from Mark Corry (2) and Cahill extended Corofin/Ruan's lead once again. Tulla always kept in touch with their opponents and scored four of the next 6 points to trail by just a solitary score when the half-time whistle blew. Half-Time score: Corofin/Ruan 0-8 Tulla 0-7.

The second half proved to be a very close affair with little separating the sides throughout. Two points from substitute Robin Mounsey along with another Cahill point did give Corofin/Ruan a three point advantage, but again Tulla refused to wilt. Two Tulla points were quickly followed by a Tulla goal, which gave the East Clare side the lead for the first time in the game. Corofin/Ruan refused to panic and they scored the last four points of the game through substitute Ashley Brohan (2) and a brace of Cahill frees, to re-take the lead as the clock ticked into injury team. Tulla did have an opportunity to level the game right at the death, but a long range free from the last puc of the game drifted wide, much to the relief of the Corofin/Ruan players, management and supporters. Full-Time score: Corofin/Ruan 0-16 Tulla 1-12.

The following was the Corofin/Ruan team line-out and scorers:

1. Stephen Burke  

2. Shay Malone

3. Michael Lyons

4. Eoin Fitzgerald

5. Seán O'Brien

6. Damien O'Loughlin   

7. Ryan Fitzpatrick

8. Cillian Clancy  

9. Conor Wynne

10. Seán Danagher     

11. Killian O'Daly   

12. Barry Heagney 

13. Adrian Shannon

14. Gearóid Cahill 0-9 (0-4 f)

15. Mark Corry  0-3 (0-2 f)

Ashley Brohan (0-2)    for   Killian O'Daly
Robin Mounsey (0-2)   for   Adrian Shannon
Kevin Keane                for   Mark Corry (inj.)
Colin Haugh                for   Seán Danagher
Páraic Cleary              for    Ryan Fitzpatrick