Corofin retain Intermediate hurling status with emphatic victory

posted 2 Aug 2014, 13:46 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 2 Aug 2014, 14:08 ]
Intermediate Hurling Championship     Corofin 2-19 Newmarket 0-10

August 2nd, 2014

Corofin retained their Intermediate Hurling status with an emphatic 15 point victory over Newmarket in their final group game of the championship, which was played in Éire Óg on Saturday August 2nd.

The result of this game was never in any serious doubt with Corofin in almost complete control from start to finish. Three pointed frees from Stephen Heagney as well as points from Gearóid Kelly and Damien Ryan set Corofin on their way early in the first half. A goal from an acute angle from Declan Stack tightened Corofin's grip on the game even further, and when John Keane burst through Newmarket's defence to bury Corofin's second goal, the writing was on the wall for the team in blue and gold. Corofin finished off the half with 4 more points, including a huge point from distance from corner back Paudie Barry. Newmarket could only muster 5 points in the opening 30 minutes, to leave the half-time score Corofin 2-11 Newmarket 0-5.

The second half began the same way the first half ended, with Corofin picking off points at ease. Eoin Davoren, Eamonn Malone and Fergus Killeen got in on the scoring act in the 2nd half as Corofin eased to a resounding victory. Corofin's dominance in nearly every sector of the field was epitomised by the fact that 9
Corofin men had got on the score-sheet by the end of the game. Newmarket doubled their half-time score to finish with a final tally of 0-10. Victory means that Corofin finish 3rd in their group, thereby ending their championship campaign, but they are safe in the knowledge that their place in the Intermediate Championship is assured for 2015. On the other hand, defeat for Newmarket means that they now enter into a 3 way play-off to see who drops down to Junior A in 2015.

The following was the team line-out and scorers: 

1.   Liam Corbett

2.   Paudie Barry 0-1

3.   Manus Malone

4.   Brendan Keane

5.   Jamie Malone

6.   Kieran Carkill

7.   Damien Ryan 0-1

8.   Gearóid Kelly 0-1

9.   Fergus Killeen 0-2

10. Cathal Barry

11. John Keane 1-2

12. Eoin Davoren 0-1

13. Stephen Heagney 0-7 (0-6 frees)

14. Eamonn Malone 0-1

15. Declan Stack 1-3

Declan Lee        for    Eoin Davoren
Eoin Clancy       for    Kieran Carkill
Padraic O'Dea   for    Declan Stack
Darren Malone   for    Eamonn Malone