Corofin knocked out of Intermediate Football Championship

posted 15 Sep 2013, 13:23 by Unknown user   [ updated 15 Sep 2013, 16:45 ]
Intermediate Football Championship Semi-Final     Miltown 0-6 Corofin 0-3

September 15th, 2013

Corofin were knocked out of the Intermediate Football Championship when they lost out to Miltown St. Josephs by 3 points, in what turned out to be a bruising semi-final encounter played in Cooraclare on Sunday September 15th.

A near gale force wind was to have a signicant bearing on the outcome of this game, with scores proving extremely hard to come by. Miltown had the benefit of this strong wind in the opening half, and they raised 5 white flags while Corofin failed to register a single score. 

Play was interupted at various stages during the game due to numerous skirmishes breaking out which resulted in yellow cards being shown to players from both teams. Corofin were reduced to 14 players midway through the second half when substitute Darragh Shannon was shown a red card. Corofin had  an even bigger mountain to climb after Miltown scored the opening point of the second half, but points from Jamie Malone and Damien Ryan reduced the deficit to 4 points. Corofin were let off the hook when Miltowns Conor Cleary put his penalty effort wide of the post. A Neil Killeen point made it just 0-6 to 0-3 in favour of Miltown. Corofin had a couple of goal efforts from close-in frees in the dying moments of the game, but Miltown held out to progress to the final where they will meet Kilmihil.  

Corofin's bid for Intermediate Football Championship success goes on for another year while attention now switches to the U-21 Football Championship, with Corofin taking on Eire Óg in the opening round next weekend.   

The following was the team line-out and scorers: 

1.   Kieran Carkill

2.   Keith O'Loughlin

3.   Eamonn Malone

4.   Colm Rice

5.   Brendan Keane

6.   John Keane

7.   Neil Killeen 0-1

8.   Luke O'Loughlin

9.   Damien Ryan 0-1

10. Jack Campbell

11. Jason Tierney

12. Kevin Heagney

13. Stephen Heagney

14. Gearóid Kelly

15. Jamie Malone 0-1

Darragh Shannon   for   Stephen Heagney