Corofin forced to play second best to Cratloe in Senior Football Championship

posted 19 Jun 2016, 10:20 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 19 Jun 2016, 11:31 ]

Senior Football Championship, 1st Round

Cratloe 2-9  Corofin 0-4

June 19th, 2016

2015 Intermediate Football Champions Corofin lost out to Cratloe in the first round of the Senior Football Championship which was played in wet and greasy conditions in Cusack Park on Sunday, June 19th.

After Cratloe scored the opening 2 points of the game through Cathal McInerney, Eoin Davoren got Corofin off the mark with a fine point from the left boot. However this would prove to be Corofin's solitary score of the first half. The wet conditions made scores hard to come by as several scoreable frees failed to raise a white flag. Corofin's cause wasn't helped by the early withdrawl through injury of key players Damien Ryan (8 mins) and Manus Malone (23 mins). Cratloe meanwhile kept the scoreboard ticking over, and they added a further 1-4 before the half-time break - the goal coming rather fortuitously after the ball sneaked over the line in the greasy conditions. Half-Time score: Cratloe 1-6 Corofin 0-1. 

Cratloe began the second half with another Cathal McInerney point. Jamie Malone kept Corofin in touch with a brace of pointed frees. Corofin goalkeeper Kieran Carkill denied Cratloe a second goal with a fine one handed save, but the resultant 45 eventually yielded another Cratloe point to give them a 1-8 to 0-3 lead. Jamie Malone replied with his third point, but Cratloe always held a comfortable buffer on the scoreboard and they got the final 2 scores of the game, with their 2nd goal eventually coming 3 minutes from time to seal an 11 point win. Full-Time score: Cratloe 2-9 Corofin 0-4. 

Corofin can take many positives out of this performance while they will be hoping that all the injuries clear up before they play their 2nd Round match against one of the other 7 losers from the 1st Round.    


The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers:

1. Kieran Carkill

2. Shay Malone

3. Manus Malone

4. Colm Rice

5. Brendan Keane 

6. Jamie Malone 0-3 (0-2 frees) 

7. Damien O'Loughlin

8. Fergal Neylon

9. John Keane

10. Stephen Heagney   

11. Fionn Clancy  

12. Damien Ryan  

13.  Eoin Clancy

14. Jason Tierney   

15. Eoin Davoren 0-1  

Darren Malone            for   Damien Ryan (inj.)
Donnchadh Kelleher   for   Manus Malone (inj.)
Gearóid Kelly              for   Eoin Davoren
Eoin Davoren              for   Darren Malone
John Rees                   for   Fergal Neylon
Jason McCarthy          for   Gearóid Kelly (inj.)