Corofin advance to U-21 C Hurling Final

posted 26 Mar 2017, 10:51 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 26 Mar 2017, 11:37 ]

U-21 C Hurling Championship, Semi-Final

Corofin 1-19  Bodyke 2-9 

March 26th, 2017

Corofin advanced to the 2017 U-21 C Hurling Final, after overcoming Bodyke in a titanic semi-final battle, which was played in Meelick on Sunday, March 26th. 11th. 

Bodyke had the advantage of a strong breeze in the first half and they opened the scoring with a pointed free from the stick of Ian Murray. Corofin replied with 4 unanswered points from Michael Kelly (3) and Fergus Killeen, before Bodyke got in a for a goal following some uncertainty in the Corofin defence. Ian Murray continued to find the range from placed balls as he converted 4 additional frees during the remainder of the first half, while 2 ;points from play from Corofin's Gearóid Cahill left only 2 points separating the sides at the break. Half-Time score: Bodyke 1-5 Corofin 0-6.

Bodyke scored the opening 2 points of the second half to stretch their lead to 4 points. However then came a period of Corofin dominance as they hit 1-6 without reply - the goal coming from Michael Kelly following a sublime pass from Gearóid Cahill. Corofin now held a 5 point lead, but the lead was pegged back to just 2 points when a long range Bodyke free dropped in around the Corofin square and was eventually finished to the back of the net. Corofin refused to panic, and a brace of points from both Conor O'Loughlin and Michael Kelly stretched the margin out to 6 points. Bodyke were awarded a 21 metre free during the closing minutes of the game, but the ball finished up  over the bar rather than under. Corofin finished out the game with further points from Cahill, Killeen and chief marksman Kelly, to leave 7 points between the sides when the full time whistle blew. Full-Time score: Corofin 1-19 Bodyke 2-9.

Corofin will now meet Scariff in the final which is scheduled to take place on the Easter weekend (April 15th/16th).

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers (13 a side):

1. Seán O'Brien   

2. Shay Malone

4. Stephen Burke

5. Pádraic Cleary

6. Damien O'Loughlin 

7. Liam McGrath

8. Fergus Killeen 0-3 (0-3 frees)

9. Conor O'Loughlin 0-2

10. Rory Conroy

11. Michael Southby

12. Tola Neylon 

13. Gearóid Cahill 0-6   

15. Michael Kelly 1-8 (0-5 frees)  

Ethan Neylon  for   Liam McGrath (inj.)