Corofin advance to U-21 B Football Final

posted 5 Nov 2016, 10:36 by Corofin GAA   [ updated 5 Nov 2016, 11:18 ]

U-21 B Football Semi-Final

Corofin 0-10 Clooney-Quin 1-5

November 5th, 2016

A depleted Corofin side advanced to the final of the 2016 U-21 B Football Championship after overcoming the challenge of a stubborn Clooney-Quin side in a Semi-Final contest which was played in a cold crisp Gurteen on Saturday November 6th.

Corofin full-forward Eoin Davoren got the opening score of the game with a point from play. Clooney-Quin responded with the next two points of the game to take the lead, but they wouldn't register any further score during the remainder of the first half, as wind assisted Corofin began to dominate proceedings. Eoin Davoren added two further points from frees, while James Tierney, Colin Vaughan and Shay Malone (free) all raised white flags to give Corofin a 4 point lead at the interval. Half-Time score: Corofin 0-6 Clooney-Quin 0-2.

Eoin Davoren continued his scoring prowess at the beginning of the second half, scoring 2 further points to extend Corofin's lead to 6 points. Clooney-Quin kept in touch with 2 points of their own, before Dean Ruane, who made the switch from goalkeeper to corner-forward at half-time, scored Corofin's 9th point of the game. Clooney-Quin refused to yield, and when a long ball ended in the back of the Corofin net, the game was firmly in the melting pot, with just 2 points between the side at 0-9 to 1-4. Aidan Collins gave Corofin some breathing space when he scored his first, and his sides 10th point. Clooney-Quin were awarded a close-in free during the final moments of the game, but with the Corofin defence lining the goal, Clooney-Quin opted to put the free over the bar, to leave just 2 points between the sides once more. However time was not on Clooney-Quin's side as the full-time whistle blew moments later, much to the relief of a threadbare Corofin side.Full-Time score: Corofin 0-10 Clooney-Quin 1-5.  

Corofin will now take on Wolfe Tones in the final which is provisionally scheduled to take place next Saturday (November 12th). Corofin will be hoping to have many of their absent players back from injury, as the club strive to win their first U-21 Football Championship since 2011. 

The following was the Corofin team line-out and scorers:

1. Dean Ruane 0-1  

2. Ross Hayes

3. Stephen Burke

4. Liam McGrath

5. Pádraic O'Dea

6. Shay Malone 0-1 (0-1 free)  

7. Conor Wynne

8. Cilléin Mullins

9. Colin Vaughan 0-1

10. Cillian Clancy

11. James Tierney 0-1 

12. Aidan Collins 0-1 

13. Eoin Keane   

14. Eoin Davoren 0-5 (0-3 frees)  

15. Ian Reidy  

Colm Rice        for   Eoin Keane
Eoin Keane      for   Cillian Clancy
David Corbett   for   Colm Rice
Cillian Clancy   for   Eoin Keane